Your trash is not my treasure

Hi everyone,

I apologize for the long time away.  I went away for the holidays and now I’m back.  It’s always good to come home, especially when you’ve been away for a while.  But one way to spoil a return to the home front is to come back to trash taking over your neighborhood. 

I bought my first home a few years ago, a townhouse.  It’s in an older community, but for the most part well kept neighborhood.  That is course except for the, how shall I say, the inconsiderate neighbors surrounding my humble abode.  I thought by locking in an end unit, I was somehow freeing myself of the hassel of noise and other questionable behavior offending me and my community.  When I arrived home the other day, I pulled into my assigned parking space to find that someone had vomitted, yes vomitted, in my parking space!  First of all, why was someone in my reserved spot in the first place?  Second, I’m a supposed to clean up vomit that doesn’t belong to me or my child for that matter? 

Come on folks and if that doesn’t make things worse, after the rain coveniently washed the disgusting sight away I pulled up the next day and discovered cardboard boxes, pizza boxes and gallon size milk jugs tossed about in the street and lingering in my yard. 

How  is that you ask?  Well, someone over stuffed their recycle bin on a day that was extra windy, so nature had its way.  But that’s not my problem.  My problem is that the culprit didn’t think it was necessary nor neighborly to pick up their garbage from someone else’s yard.

So let me get this straight, you didn’t know it was your trash?  No likely.  I don’t know about you all, but I can spot my trash a mile off.  I know exactly, what they thought, “it’s my trash, but I will let someone else pick it up”.  You can get any more rude or disrespectful than that, allowing someone else to clean up after you.

But isn’t that the mentality of most people now?  It’s not my problem, let someone else take care of it.  In the words of my pastor, “Would to God”!   Would to God we all owned our own mess and not leave it for some else to live with.  The world would be a better place. 

Tagged with: , , , , ,
Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

